Our Office Only Represents Landlords & Property Management Companies.
The eviction process in Florida usually takes 1.5 to 3 months to complete. Therefore, we suggest contacting us once you're ready so that we can begin the process of getting the property back in your possession. The law forbids landlords from using "self-help", i.e., locking out a tenant or removing them by force. You may only remove a tenant by lawful means as described above.
This law office assists landlords only in Florida eviction cases. We will guide you through the eviction process and assist you in removing your tenant. We represent landlords in both residential evictions and commercial evictions throughout the state of Florida.
Be sure to access our complimentary Client Forms on our website for all your eviction needs. Give us a call at (407) 556-7078 to receive a free consultation for your Florida eviction case.
Eviction cases in Florida generally begin when a tenant owes a landlord money due to unpaid rent, the violation of a term of the rental agreement, or simply when the landlord no longer wishes to rent the unit. The tenant is served with a 3 day notice. If the tenant fails to move out by the expiration date specified in the 3 day notice, then a lawsuit is filed against the tenant.
TO GET STARTED NOW EMAIL US THIS FORM!
Landlord & Tenant - Eviction matters are governed by the laws of the State of Florida ( Florida Statutes - Chapter 83 ) and by the Florida Rules of Civil Procedure. There are four different types of notices given to tenants for evictions. Each one is very specific in what it requires. Listed below are the different types of notices. You must give the tenant one of the following notices by either hand delivery to tenant or posting the notice to the tenants door. After the required time has passed your eviction case can be filed with the county clerk's office.
THREE DAY NOTICE
If a tenant has not paid his rent, the landlord is required to give his tenant a three day notice in writing to vacate the premises or pay the rent. After three full days (Excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays) have elapsed from the date of the notice (not counting the date the notice is delivered to the tenant), if the tenant has not complied with the notice, the landlord can file his complaint for eviction of the tenant.
SEVEN DAY NOTICE (WITH CURE)
- If the landlord has a tenant who is undesirable but the situation could be remedied within seven days (i.e. unauthorized pets, guest, or parking, etc.), the Seven Day Notice with cure could be given. The notice should state the non-compliance and give the tenant seven days to correct the problem or to vacate the premises. The tenant would be allowed to stay if he complied. If he does not comply, then the landlord would file a complaint for eviction based on the notice given. If the same noncompliance recurs within a 12 month period, the Landlord may commence with eviction proceedings without giving a subsequent notice.
SEVEN DAY NOTICE (WITHOUT CURE)-
If a tenant is undesirable with a serious non-compliance (i.e. destruction, damage or misuse of property; unreasonable disturbance, etc.), the Seven Day Notice without cure could be given. The notice informs the tenant the rental agreement is terminated and that no further rent will be accepted. It also lists the items of non-compliance. If the tenant has not moved in seven days, the landlord would file eviction proceedings.
FIFTEEN DAY NOTICE
- If the landlord needs possession of his property and it is not for any of the above reasons and the rent is paid on a month to month basis, he would give the tenant a fifteen day written notice to vacate the premises. The notice would state that the rental agreement is terminated and no further rent would be accepted. This notice should be given fifteen days prior to the rent being due. If the tenant does not vacate, the landlord would file his complaint for eviction. If a written lease agreement has been entered into, this section does not apply.
· When the eviction complaint is filed, the clerk will issue a five day summons and send it to the sheriff for service on the tenant. The tenant will have five working days in which to file a written response to the summons with the Court or to vacate.
· If a written response is made, a hearing will be set before the judge assigned to the case and hearing notices will be sent to each party. If no response is made, the landlord may come back to the Clerk’s office, with a Motion for Default, and pay another $90.00 to the sheriff for the Writ of Possession.
· The Sheriff’s Department will serve the tenant with a notice to vacate. If the tenant does not vacate the premises, the Sheriff will then proceed to evict the tenants.
· If the tenant should vacate the premises or pay the rent prior to the landlord filing their Motion for Default, the landlord should notify the Clerk’s office in writing and submit an Order of Dismissal for the Judge to sign.
The information contained on this website is for general informational purposes only. Nothing on this website or associated pages, documents, comments, answers, or email communications should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. The information on this website is neither intended to create nor does it constitute an attorney-client relationship.